ZooLights is the holiday light event at Utah’s Hogle Zoo in Salt Lake City, where the zoo stays open after dark on select nights so guests can walk through light displays and festive decorations. Utah’s Hogle Zoo has not announced 2026 dates yet, and this page will be updated as soon as it does. For planning, the most recent run (the 2025 season) went from November 28, 2025 through January 4, 2026 on select nights, with hours from 5:30 to 9 p.m.
ZooLights suits families with young kids, couples looking for a low-key date night, and anyone who wants a quieter, cold-weather alternative to daytime zoo visits, since most animal habitats stay dark so the animals can rest. Plan on at least 90 minutes to see the lights, visit Santa, and grab a treat. Tickets are sold by date and are non-refundable, so it is worth buying online in advance for the night you want rather than counting on walk-up availability.

Stats at a Glance
- Venue: Utah’s Hogle Zoo
- City: Salt Lake City
- State: Utah
- Dates: 2026 dates TBD (2025: November 28, 2025 to January 4, 2026, select nights)
- Hours: TBD (2025: 5:30 to 9 p.m.)
- Tickets: TBD (2025: $16.95 to $19.95 general, $13.95 to $16.95 for members)
- Timed entry: Not stated
- New for 2026: not announced
2026 dates and what we know
As of this writing, Utah’s Hogle Zoo has not published dates, hours, or ticket prices for the 2026 ZooLights season. The zoo typically confirms its holiday lineup in the fall, so expect an announcement in the weeks before the event. In the meantime, the 2025 season is the best guide: ZooLights ran on select nights from November 28, 2025 through January 4, 2026, from 5:30 to 9 p.m., with a sensory-friendly ZooLights Silent Night held on December 26, 2025. Nothing specific has been confirmed yet for 2026, so check the official event page before making plans.
The lights and displays
ZooLights fills the zoo’s walkways with holiday light displays and seasonal decorations set up for nighttime viewing, along with spots for holiday photos. Most animal habitats are kept dark during the event so the animals can rest, so this is primarily a lights-and-atmosphere visit rather than an animal-viewing one. In 2025, guests could also visit Santa at the Wild Zootique Gift Shop through December 23 and take a nighttime ride on the Conservation Carousel in Oasis Plaza for an extra $3 per person. Check the event calendar for 2026, since specific nights and any new displays have not been announced.
Tickets, prices and member nights
2026 ticket prices have not been released. For reference, 2025 general admission was $16.95 for ages 3 to 12 and $19.95 for ages 13 and up, with children 2 and under free. Zoo members saved $3 per ticket ($13.95 and $16.95), and members at the Premier Booster level and above received one free ZooLights night as part of their membership. Tickets were sold by specific date, were non-refundable, and the event ran rain, snow, or shine. Watch the official ZooLights page for 2026 on-sale dates and pricing.

Food, drinks and extras
In 2025, seasonal treats were available at the zoo’s Beastro, including hot chocolate, s’mores, and other holiday sweets. The Conservation Carousel ran for an extra $3 per rider, and members received a complimentary festive fudge tin with their membership ID. ZooLights Silent Night offered a sensory-friendly version of the event, with adjustments to sound, flashing lights, and smells, while keeping the same light displays and holiday atmosphere. Whether these extras return unchanged for 2026 has not been confirmed.
Tips for your visit
Dress warm since the event runs outdoors after dark in Utah’s winter weather, and the 2025 season ran snow or shine with non-refundable tickets, so check the forecast before you head out. Plan for a minimum of about 90 minutes to see the lights, visit Santa, and grab a treat. ZooLights only runs on select nights rather than every night of the season, so confirm your date on the event calendar once 2026 dates are posted. Wheelchair and stroller rentals were available in 2025, and tickets could be bought online in advance or at the gate.
Explore more: every zoo and garden holiday light show for 2026, by state.
Over 3,700 pieces, a real vertical loop and a working chain lift. Display it on a shelf in the coaster room.
Rub-on sunscreen that fits in a pocket — reapply in the queue without greasy hands on the lap bar.
Folds into its own pocket. Pop it on when the storm rolls in and the rides reopen to short lines.
ZooLights 2026 at Utah’s Hogle Zoo FAQs
When is ZooLights 2026 at Utah’s Hogle Zoo?
Utah’s Hogle Zoo has not announced 2026 ZooLights dates yet. As a guide, the 2025 season ran select nights from November 28, 2025 through January 4, 2026, from 5:30 to 9 p.m.
How much are ZooLights tickets in 2026?
2026 prices have not been announced. In 2025, general admission was $16.95 for ages 3 to 12 and $19.95 for ages 13 and up, with members paying $13.95 and $16.95. Children 2 and under were free.
Do you need to buy ZooLights tickets in advance?
Utah’s Hogle Zoo has not stated whether timed entry is required for 2026. In 2025, tickets were sold for specific dates and were non-refundable, and were available online in advance or at the gate, so buying ahead for your chosen night is recommended.
Get More from ZooLights 2026 at Utah’s Hogle Zoo
Log the coasters, stadiums, and venues you’ve experienced, rate ZooLights 2026 at Utah’s Hogle Zoo, and see what your friends thought. Get the ThrillZing app.
Want the day’s theme park news in your inbox? Subscribe to ThrillZing Daily — free.
Photo: Bobjgalindo / CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.